10K vs 14K vs 18K Gold

gold rings10k, 14k, 18k, or 24k are valuable gold jewelry but what is their difference from one another? The karat of gold is what determines the purity level of your gold jewelry. So, keep reading as I take you to a closer look at what this means for your jewelry and I tell you the ways on how to determine the best karat weight for your needs.


Why Is Gold Jewelry So Popular

Gold has been naturally charming for thousands of years already. It became a measurement of authority and wealth since the origin of civilization and people are intuitively drawn to it. Historically, gold jewelry was a useful means of both showcasing your wealth and carrying your accumulated wealth with you for handy use in times of need. The human psyche can never underestimate the symbolic importance of gold.


What is Gold

Pure gold, or the symbol AU on the periodic table, is metallic yellow. Gold is a very flexible and soft metal compared with other elements. Other various metals can share the look of pure gold, pyrite for example, traditionally known as fool’s gold, but there is no replacement for 14k gold.


Gold Purity and The Karat System

Gold is a very stable metal where it stands the test of time. It is not known to rust, fade, or even diminish. Being of the softer metals, gold is easy to work with and ideal for shaping into exquisite jewelry pieces. When working with gold, as soft as it is, jewelers will often mix additional alloys with gold to strengthen it and increase its durability. Typically, the alloys are a combination of zinc, nickel, silver, and copper. This also affects gold coins among which the “krugerrand” – also deeply loved by your diamond teacher – no doubt is the most famous one.


The addition of these alloy metal mixture does affect the final color of the gold. Perhaps, you have seen engagement ring sets that use yellow gold bands, white gold, or other gold colors. They are created by modifying the ratio of the mixed alloys with pure gold.


The karat weight determines the purity of your gold. It is a measure of purity that is measured from 1 to 24. So, if you think of it, a 1K gold would be the strongest wit lesser pure gold, and a 24k gold would be pure gold.


What is the Ideal Karat Gold

So when you want to determine a piece of gold jewelry that you plan to buy, you should consider the karat of the gold as an indicator of its purity and durability. For example, a 10K ring will contain 10 parts per 24 of gold which will be durable for its additional alloy weight. However, it will represent a lower value from the perspective of pure gold. An 18K jewelry will give additional jewelry value significance that is typical for diamond engagement rings or diamond wedding rings while still maintaining some of the strength benefits needed for ring durability.


14K rings and gold bands are the most well-known used today. They represent a compromise between color, durability, and value. A 14K gold engagement ring has 14 karats alloy mixed with pure gold. A 10K gold wedding band is less popular but includes some cost benefits that ought to be considered. You should know what your gold karat is because it will help you choose your ideal karat gold jewelry.

Types of Diamond Cut

Diamond CutWhile shaping a diamond, a style or design guide is used, this is known as a diamond cut. It does not refer to any shape; instead it’s the symmetry, proportion, and polish of a diamond. If the cut of the diamond is poor then the effect would directly impact its luminosity; also while choosing the cut, the shape and size of the crystal must be taken into consideration.


It consists of a symmetrical arrangement of facets which modify the shape and appearance of a diamond crystal. The two important aspects of the cut are the polish and the symmetry. The smoothness of the facets depends on the polish; and the alignment of the facets make the symmetry. If the polish is not up to the mark then the facet is dulled and would create a blurred sparkle. In the case of symmetry being poor, the light would be misdirected when it enters and exits the diamond.


There are five types of diamond cuts such as the modified brilliants, round brilliant, mixed cut, step cut, and rose cut.


  • The modified brilliant is the modified version of Round Brilliant. It can be modified into various shapes because the facet counts and facet arrangements are the same; it is also the most saleable as compared to other cuts. It includes cuts such as marquise, heart, triangular trillion, oval, and the pear or drop cuts.


  • The most popular cut is the round brilliant cut and the choice of many because of its elegance and simplicity; as the name suggests it has a circle cut diamond.


  • The mixed cut is a combination of both Modified Brilliant and Step cut; it combines the weight preservation and dimensions of step cuts and the optical effects of the brilliant-cut. The princess cut is the most popular Mixed cut and is a commercial hit as well. 


  • The step cuts are the cuts where the stone is either square or rectangular. The facets of these cuts are rectilinear and are arranged parallel to the girdle.


  • The rose cut has a flat base and a crown consisting of triangular facets in a symmetrical arrangement.


Different types of diamond shapes are available such as round, oval, and cushion shapes; Princess, Emerald, Asscher Diamond Shapes; Marquise and Radiant Diamond Shapes; Pear and Heart Diamond Shapes and so on.

The Colors of Diamond

diamond colorHow many colors of diamond do you know? Do you know that diamonds have a lot of colors? Most of the rare colors are much pricier than the other colors. If you want to know some tips in evaluating a diamond color, keep reading.


Diamonds are categorized by four characteristics such as clarity, cut, carat weight, and color. For each characteristic, the higher on the scale it is, the more costly the diamond appears. For instance, the different degrees of color increase the worth of the diamond. Also, all diamonds are classed against that “white” color. Hence, a colorless diamond does not exist even if it is the most common “white” diamond that most people are familiar with.


The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) created a standard diamond color guideline where the color of each diamond is compared to a pre-selected set of colored gems or known as control stones


Loose diamond

The loose diamond must not be set in metal because the metal setting will alter the appearance of the diamond’s color. The diamond needs to be positioned upside down (with the point up). Then it is examined using the gemologist’s magnifying tool called a loupe. This magnifying tool enables the gemologist to see the characteristics of a diamond more clearly. The diamond must be held loosely in the jeweler’s hand upon examining and class its color.


The letter grade of the diamond

Gemologists use a letter grading system in evaluating the diamond’s color. The letter grading system starts at the letter D and goes to Z with a color for each letter. Diamonds in the D category are typical and do not have any color whatsoever. So, the Z category is the deepest shade of color found in a diamond. Here is a list of the lettered colors for diamonds:

  • D to F: colorless
  • G to J: nearly colorless
  • K to M: slightly colored, often yellow
  • N to R: slightly colored, often yellow; clear to the human’s naked eye
  • S to Z: colored, usually brown or yellow; visible to the human’s naked eye


Generally, if you are seeking a diamond, think about the fluorescence of the stone to some extent, but also look at the letter grading of the diamond. A diamond with a grade of D to J is already desirable. If you are still in doubt, you can ask the gemologist to assist you and help you in choosing the one that will fit your taste and budget.